Posts Tagged ‘auto accident’

Idaho Auto Insurance Frequently Asked Coverage Questions Part 1

Friday, February 12th, 2010

This information was gathered from the  Idaho Department of Insurance Website

Why do my rates go up every year?

The cost of motor vehicle insurance is of great concern to all. The rising fees on car repairs and the skyrocketing cost of medical care affect the total cost of car insurance, pushing premium rates up each year.

The biggest rise in recently has been in liability coverages. These coverages pay for bodily injury and property damage.  Legal costs are also part of the overall expense.

Auto insurance prices are based on many of factors. The rate you pay consists of a “base rate” + or -  amounts reflecting your gender, driving pattern, driving record, gender, marital status, vehicle type, and claims history. There is a different base price for each type of automobile and geographical area. While each  individual insurance company may differ in the amounts they assess for each factor, the major rating factors are fairly universal.

  • Your age: Stats show, as a group, drivers under age 30 and over 75 have more accidents than the general population. Therefor, these drivers in both of these classes are charged more, as well as families with young drivers in the household.
  • Your gender: Young men are also found involved in more accidents per miles driven than any group.  Idaho law allows Idaho Auto Insurance Insurers to charge on the basis of gender and age where the actual proof of differences in risk exists.
  • Your Vehicle: Generally, the more your car costs, the more you will pay for comprehensive and collision coverage.  Sports cars and high-performance vehicles tend to be involved in more accidents, have higher repair costs, and are more likely to be stolen, so they also cost more to insure.
  • Your location: The higher number of accidents in more populated areas will raise premiums, while higher theft rates in urban areas can raise your comprehensive premium. The law allows insurance companies to base your rate on your address (garaging territory), even if you drive to a more urban or rural area.
  • Driving patterns: The more miles you put on your vehicle, the higher your premiums will be. An automobile used for a total of 5,000 miles a year would normally have lower rates than a car driven 15,000 miles a year.
  • Driving record and claim history: Most auto insurance companies apply a surcharge to insureds who have been convicted of multiple traffic violations or in an accident . Also, the multiple claims may trigger higher rates.

Click this link to compare Idaho Auto Insurance Quotes.  One quick easy form to get multiple rates back from national insurance companies and local agents.

  • Share/Bookmark

Insurer may have violated law, report reveals

Tuesday, February 9th, 2010

A high-profile California insurance company that is backing a controversial insurance measure on the June ballot has engaged in practices that may be illegal, including deceptive pricing and discrimination against consumers such as active members of the military and drivers of emergency vehicles, according to a state report obtained by The Chronicle.The report, obtained through the state Public Records Act, alleges that Mercury Insurance Group may have violated Proposition 103, the landmark consumer protection law approved by voters in 1988. The measure limited the cost of policies and made civil rights and antitrust laws apply to the insurance industry.

The 275-page report by the state Department of Insurance was authorized for release by Insurance Commissioner Steve Poizner. The documents, which cover the firm’s practices from the mid-1990s to 2004, are the state’s most recent completed investigation of the company.

In its reporting, the state found evidence that Mercury may have violated state laws by:

– Flagging some consumers for higher rates if they had been in an accident, even if it was not their fault.

– Not immediately granting coverage to applicants including military personnel on active duty, “artists,” those employed “in the entertainment industry as actors, dancers, etc.,” and emergency vehicle drivers.

– Raising insurance premiums after its sales agents quoted prices for discounts for which the consumer was not eligible. The department said this was the single largest category of complaints it received about the firm.

– Collecting higher premiums than allowed by law by requiring its brokers to return part of their fees to the company.

– Requesting information about customers’ “national origin,” a practice that the department said “could raise questions about the legality of Mercury’s personal automobile policy cancellation and non-renewal decisions” under state law. Mercury agreed to block such data after the state investigators raised concerns.

State officials said the report uncovered 25 issues or questionable practices by Mercury, seven of which remain unresolved.

Kathy Fairbanks, a spokeswoman for the company, disputed the state’s findings and said consumer groups intend to use the report to “muddy the waters” regarding Proposition 17, the June ballot measure that Mercury is backing.

“We’re talking about issues years ago that have been addressed and taken care of,” Fairbanks said. “I’m not going to respond (to details of the report) because it’s unrelated to Prop. 17, which is what voters are going to review.”

Fairbanks said the June measure, called the “Continuous Coverage Discount Initiative,” would increase competition and lower rates by providing auto insurance discounts to millions of Californians who “continually maintain” auto insurance coverage, an idea she said has been backed by groups including the California Chamber of Commerce.

Mercury put up $3.5 million last year to back a group called “Californians for Fair Auto Insurance Rates” to support Prop. 17, which consumer advocates say would dramatically change state auto insurance laws.

Prop. 17 affects rates

A leading consumer advocate was quick to respond to the state report.

“In my career as a consumer advocate, I’ve never seen such a devastating indictment of a single insurance company,” said Harvey Rosenfield, founder of Consumer Watchdog of Santa Monica and author of Prop. 103. He called the practices “illegal, unfair and un-American,” saying “it’s shocking that Mercury so brazenly defied the law for so many years.”

Rosenfield said Prop. 17 will allow Mercury to raise rates for Californians not previously insured or those who let their insurance lapse – a practice that is illegal under Prop. 103.

“What’s outrageous is that Mercury is spending millions on an initiative to legalize the kind of discriminatory surcharges that they were caught doing by (state) investigators,” Rosenfield said.

Poizner said he could not comment on his department’s findings on the company because his office is involved in an administrative action against Mercury for non-compliance on an issue dating back to 1998 that surfaced in the state’s examination of the company.

But the insurance commissioner, who is a Republican candidate for governor in the June primary election, said that if the state finds any insurance company to have violated the law, he will “come down on them like a ton of bricks.”

Mercury’s performance and its political muscle could also play out in the governor’s race this year. The company and its chairman, George Joseph, have donated more than $7.2 million to state political campaigns in the past decade and rank among California’s most deep-pocketed political donors.

In 2009, Mercury donated $13,000 to the gubernatorial campaign of Attorney General Jerry Brown but has not donated to Poizner’s campaign for governor.

Former state insurance commissioner John Garamendi, now a congressman, said that starting in 2002 his office “received complaints about Mercury’s practices – and those complaints rose to the level where we felt it was necessary to investigate.”

Under Poizner, who was elected insurance commissioner in 2006, the state has continued to investigate Mercury, the parent firm to the state’s third-largest auto insurance firm, which serves 10 percent of the market in California, records show.

“Mercury has a deserved reputation for abusing its customers and intentionally violating the law with arrogance and indifference,” the state department wrote in a Feb. 20, 2009, legal filing related to its administrative case.

Since 2006, the state has fined Mercury $600,000 for violations based on its own examinations and for consumer complaints about the firm, state officials said.

Compare Free Insurance Quotes

Political clout

Garamendi and others said Mercury has a reputation for playing political hardball.

In 1996, when then-state Senate Pro Tem Bill Lockyer, a Democrat, opposed Mercury’s effort to amend Prop. 103, company chairman Joseph responded by writing a $500,000 check – to the state GOP.

“What really perturbed me is that, instead of cleaning up their act, they decided to try and change the law – to make legal what was illegal,” Garamendi said. “They went at it through the Legislature and we ultimately defeated that. And now they’ve come back with Prop. 17 … so they can do what is fundamentally unfair to the consumer.”

Fairbanks argued that Prop. 17 “levels the playing field and allows all the insurers to offer the same discount, which ultimately drives down rates” to benefit California drivers with good records who’ve maintained their auto insurance coverage.

Rosenfield said Poizner “deserves accolades for disclosing an examination that is important for the public to consider – not just customers of Mercury but voters who will have to assess the credibility of this initiative.”

Consumer Watchdog has urged Brown – who has yet to formally declare himself a candidate for governor – to consider revising the title and summary for Prop. 17 that will appear on the ballot. The group argues that Brown’s ballot description failed to mention that the measure could lead to higher rates for some Californians.

Brown’s office has said the summary accurately reflects changes in the initiative and its impacts. A nonpartisan analysis of Prop. 17 on the insurance commissioner’s Web site says some consumers will get discounts under the initiative but it “will result in a surcharge for other drivers.”

Compare Free Insurance Quotes

© 2010 Hearst Communications Inc.

  • Share/Bookmark

What No-Fault Auto Insurance Doesn’t Cover

Friday, January 22nd, 2010
No Fault Coverage

No Fault Coverage

In most states, the no-fault law specifically excludes property damage liability for damage that you cause to the property of others. If you are at fault in such anaccident, you will be held liable and can be sued for these losses.

Only in a limited number of states does the no-fault law extend some coverage to damage you may cause another driver’s automobile. Furthermore, even in these limited cases, property damage liability coverage does not extend to your car. You must
buy a separate collision coverage to take care of this risk.

You should be aware that this is just  general overview of no-fault laws governing insurance. For specific information about the no fault law and insurance in your state, contact your state insurance department. Most state insurance departments have written consumer information that will outline the specific limits and responsibilities for auto insurance in their state.

Complete a free auto insurance quote at QuoteMatcher.com and receive a free 12 page auto insurance buyers guide detailing and explaining multiple auto insurance coverage and car insurance discounts.

  • Share/Bookmark

Useful Idaho Auto Insurance and Vehicle Registration Facts

Wednesday, January 13th, 2010

Idaho Liability Insurance Requirements for Private Passenger Vehicles

Idaho Auto Insurance Liability Minimum:

* $25,000 for injury/death for one person.

* $50,000 for injury/death to more than one person

* $15,000 for damage to property.

NOTE: Operators of off-road all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) and motorbikes must comply with financial responsibility requirements when riding on public roads.

Financial Responsibility And Proof of Auto Insurance

Upon registering your vehicle you’ll be asked to sign a statement confirming your auto is insured. Idaho requires you to carry proof of insurance whenever driving your automobile. To comply with this you must have:

* An insurance identification card provided by your carrier.

* Proof of an indemnity bond provided either by your broker or the DMV.


Idaho first time registration
:

There are several reasons you may need to register your vehicle for a first time, including:

* Established Idaho residency

* Purchased a used car from a private party

* Transferred ownership to you via gift, family or inheritance

Upon buying a auto within state lines, you have 30 days to register it. There is a $20 late fee if this time period is exceeded. If you are transferring a vehicle from another state, the 30-day clock begins the day you bring it into Idaho.

If you just became a resident of Idaho, you have 90 days to register with Idaho’s Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

NOTE: Before registering, you must first title your vehicle.

Idaho Vehicle Registration Renewal
:

This service is currently available for registrants in the following counties:
Ada, Adams, Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Blaine, Boise, Bonneville, Camas, Canyon, Caribou, Cassia, Custer, Elmore, Fremont, Gem, Gooding, Idaho, Jerome, Kootenai, Latah, Madison, Minidoka, Oneida, Owyhee, Payette, Shoshone, Twin Falls, Valley and Washington County

Commercial vehicles need to Use the Full Fee Vehicle Registration Renewal.

The following plate types can not currently be renewed online in Idaho: Boats, Classic, Dealer, Exempt, Legislative, Loaner, Off-Road, Old Timer, Repossession, Snowmobiles and Transporter.

  • Share/Bookmark

Tort Insurance Means Guaranteed Responsibility in Idaho

Tuesday, December 1st, 2009

Auto insurance is a necessity for every driver that wants to protect themselves against the financial damages that an auto accident can cause. However, culpability is determined by several factors, not the least of which is the state’s tort law system in cases of automobile accidents.

Each state holds different levels of tort systems for auto accidents. In Idaho, the statute says that someone must be found at fault and their insurance company is required to pay the costs of damages to the other party. There is no “no-fault” option, which means that having car insurance is absolutely vital to anyone driving in the state of Idaho.

Without insurance, drivers found to be at fault in an accident are financially and legally obligated for damages, but an uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage is available for Idaho auto insurance carriers and should be added in case the person at fault has no insurance and there are immediate damages, like medical bills or car repairs, that must be attended. It is crucial that any driver in Idaho be aware of the most vital aspects of Idaho auto insurance information when comparing Idaho auto insurance quotes.

Some important criteria for drivers researching Idaho auto insurance quotes:

  • You must maintain a minimum bodily injury liability limit of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident, and $15,000 property damage limit by Idaho State Law.
  • Idaho Insurance Coverage:
    Minimum Limit – Bodily Injury $25,000/$50,000
    Minimum Limit – Property Damage $15,000

Quotematcher.com offers Idaho drivers the ability to quote several different Idaho auto insurance plans based on your specific criteria, taking into consideration the Idaho tort law stipulations.

  • Share/Bookmark

Etiquette Of An Automobile Accident Without Injuries

Tuesday, December 1st, 2009

Your teenage daughter misjudges the distance when she goes around a turning automobile, and taps into the vehicles back bumper. The other driver, an elderly lady, appears fine. She states, “It’s Thanksgiving time, and I’m ok. Don’t worry about it.”

Auto Insurance Accident

Auto Insurance Accident

You were in the car with your daughter and thought that was a reasonable attitude, and left the scene. So you go home with your turkey and 5 pounds of potatoes to have a nice life.

A couple weeks go bye, and your car insurance company calls you to tell you that the lady is suing them and you for lost wages, injuries to her neck and back, and pain and suffering.

What did you do wrong? That so-called accident was only a small bump that didn’t even scratch the paint. That lady couldn’t have been injured your terrified daughter tells your auto insurance company’s attorney.

Attorney! Holy cow.

No one can say what might happen when cars tap. But there are things you can do to make sure fender-benders don’t become the headache of the decade.

Your first thought is most likely to call the police. But in some municipalities, the police only respond if there are injuries. In a lot of states, a minor accident without injuries and damage less then $500 means you don’t need to call the police to the scene.  You are allowed to file a report later. Know the laws where you live and where you may be traveling. Then, by following the steps below – even if the police are not present – you can protect yourself from fake claims and help your auto insurance provider make the best decisions:

  • First, obey the law. Every jurisdiction through out the country requires motorists to carry their license, auto insurance information, and registration. Be sure all family drivers have this information available whenever behind the wheel.
  • Second, take pictures. Keep a disposable camera in the glove compartment or use the camera on your phone and use it if in a fender bender. Pictures can help with validating repair estimates and whether the force of the accident was likely to cause injuries that may later be filed by the other driver or passengers.  Also, make sure to take pictures of all the people in the other car/cars, preferably while they are still in their vehicle or at least while they are all still present at the scene. Why? To protect against fraud schemes. In an attempt to get bigger settlements from the insurance companies, people are known to come forward and say they were also in the vehicle and also suffered injuries.  Take photos at the site of the accident. Having pictures of the vehicles ‘on location’ can clarify your case to the claims adjuster. Jot down the specifics of where the accident happened as well, for example: “Going west on First Ave approaching the intersection of Main Street and First Ave, about 50 feet before the stop sign.”
  • Third, get the names and addresses of any witnesses. Some may be wary to give you their information; but be persistent within reason.
  • Fourth, make sure to get the other drivers information. Be certain to include name, address, phone number, driver’s license number, license plate number, policy number and the name of the other driver’s insurance company including insurance company’s phone number.  The telephone number will be listed on the insurance card. If the driver is not named on the insurance card, find out the relationship between the driver and that person and write it down, also include that person’s address and phone information, if different than the drivers. Then, include a description of the other automobile, including year, make, model and color.
  • Lastly, don’t open your mouth. Under no circumstances tell the other driver, “It was your fault,” even if it was. Remember, there are unscrupulous people out there who stage accidents for the insurance money, and you could have been set up by one of these criminals. Even if it was a bona fide accident, let the insurance companies or police determine blame – or no blame. Some of us feel so badly and emotional after an accident, especially if the other driver seems to have come undone, that we are more likely to accept blame even though it wasn’t your fault.

OK. Now you can go home and prepare Thanksgiving Dinner…make sure to drive even more carefully in the future this way you can avoid having to perform this tricky scene again.

Click Discount Auto Insurance to get Free Insurance Quotes

  • Share/Bookmark